Diamond News

January 13, 21 by John Jeffay

(IDEX Online) - The GIA has introduced classification reports for cultured pearls.

They are based on its 7 Pearl Value Factors -  size, shape, color, luster, surface, nacre and matching  - and include digital images. 

The Gemological Institute of America's new service is only available for the three major types of cultured pearls, Akoya, South Sea and Tahitian pearls.

It says up to 10 related loose pearls may be submitted per report and they must be visually related to each other. There are no tests for identification or treatment, it says.

Submitted pearls may be loose, mounted, strung, or in a fixed design layout for a strand or jewelry item.

The GIA, well-known as a diamond grading authority, says it has been a leader in the identification and classification of natural and cultured pearls since 1949.

Pic shows a GIA cultured pearl classification report...

Read more from our friends at IDEX

Pin It

Diamond Buyers Club

twitter facebook 

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Contact Us

+1 (832) 736-2772

PO Box 5613 
Katy, TX, USA